The Grievance of Ibrahim Mothana

September 5th, 2013 was the day that I will never forget. A soul has surprised us by leaving this world earlier than we can ever imagine.

It’s almost been five months since you’ve departed from us, Ibrahim. Time flew by, didn’t it? All the work that you put into this world suddenly is only becoming a memory. What an intelligent human being you were, brother. I can remember us walking in Manhattan towards the train from a cafe we sat down in with other Yemeni activists. Little did we know that you would be forever gone the following year.

I can remember coming back from a wedding that night thinking that the day was a beautiful and joyous one – until I went on my laptop to Facebook. Little did I know that that was the saddest and most shocking nights of my life. I can still remember reading, “Rest in peace, Mothana”. That first post I’ve seen upon opening my homepage. It was then when I dropped my wallet and shoes so suddenly to the floor. It was that moment where my mind went blank and the only thing I said, “No, this cannot be true. That’s impossible…It must be a rumor”. Unfortunately, I realized it wasn’t a rumor and it was true.

As you suddenly left us, we’ve been missing a bright star.

Aside of Yemen and all its political messes, you’ve taught me a lesson: Smile!

But above all, bro, you taught me that in an instant, my life can be taken away just like yours. In an instant, all the work that I have done in this life will only serve people as a memory and the only thing that will be remembered is my name.

The only one who will not forget you or your actions is God. People, they just come and go. But God is the one who watches you since the day you were born and until the day you are brought back to him.

With every prayer, Ibrahim, I pray for you. With every smile, I see you. With every laugh, I see you.

It’s not the work that you’ve done for Yemen that should be remembered solely, but rather your character and pure heart. It’s not the jokes that should be remembered solely, but the kindness that you spread to others.

See, Ibrahim, you’ve been gone for almost five months and Yemen is on its way to better days. This world is nothing but just a short trip to our real destination. You’ve arrived before us. I’m sure the only thing that you want and will benefit from now is not where Yemen and its people are heading to, but prayers that will help ease the way to this new destination of your soul. It’s your deeds that will be accounted and our prayers (that we should continue) for your soul at the end of the day. This is why until I take my last breath, I will pray for you, even if you aren’t surrounding us in this life. This is what everyone who cared about you should do.

As God says in the Quran, “And that human being can have nothing but what he has earned (good or bad)” 53:39

اللَّهُمَّ اغْفِرْ لِفُلَانِ وَارْفَعْ دَرَجَتَهُ فِي الْمَهْدِيِّينَ وَاخْلُفْهُ فِي عَقِبِهِ فِي الْغَابِرِينَ وَاغْفِرْ لَنَا وَلَهُ يَا رَبَّ الْعَالَمِينَ وَأَفْسِحْ لَهُ فِي قَبْرِهِ وَنَوِّرْ لَهُ فِيهِ

“O Allah, forgive (name of the dead person). Make him among the guided ones, raise his status and be his deputy among the grieving. O Lord of the two worlds, forgive us and him and make his grave wide and full of light”.

About Summer Nasser
Blogger, with Yemeni roots based in New York City. Student of Sociology (B.A.) with a focus on the country of Yemen. I would consider myself a student of knowledge.

Comments are closed.

