I can’t help but cry for you, Raja Al-Hakami

 

Ever since I watched Raja Al-Hakami’s interview on Suhail TV via Youtube, I can’t help myself but cry for her.  I take a moment by myself everyday and sink into my thoughts, letting out a deep sigh when I think about my country, Yemen. It hurts to see the country that I wish the best for in such a mess. I think about those troubled faces, the empty stares, the hurt, disappointment and anger.

Flashbacks of Raja’s video come into mind and my tears start flowing out of my eyes. At first, I asked myself why am I crying? I then realized it’s because of the injustice in my country. I’m really saddened to write that she is under a death sentence, after a 2 year jail sentence for defending her honor and family from an alleged rapist. My heart sinks every time I read a headline regarding her case…

What’s frightening? This ruling can happen to any other woman in Yemen when defending herself and her honor. Injustice can happen to anyone in Yemen. No one is safe from unjust rulings.

Knowing Yemeni officials and our failed courts, they won’t look at her case again. If they do, and give her a fair trial, it will be considered a miracle. You see, there is no such thing as human rights in the country nor is there such thing as justice. How can your kids grow up in a country where there is no such thing as equality for both sexes? How can we build a nation when the fundamentals aren’t even established? How can we ‘better’ our future when our rights are nothing to the government? How are we going to go ahead in a country that doesn’t even have a judicial system? Think about yourselves and what your entitled to. These are our rights! If we have nothing near that, then we will never see a better Yemen.

I cry because our people have took so much from our corrupted government. I cry because our people haven’t lived a decent life. I cry because they are so hopeful yet they turn around and say, “There’s no use.” I tear because even after all this, they are still hopeful saying, “God willing, things will change“… that’s a beautiful thing to hear.

But I pray… I pray for Raja and all the others who are are going through injustice. I pray for the little kids that are dreaming…I pray for the mothers and fathers that worry endlessly about their kids future. Most importantly, I pray that God will help a country in need of His assistance.

 

About Summer Nasser
Blogger, with Yemeni roots based in New York City. Student of Sociology (B.A.) with a focus on the country of Yemen. I would consider myself a student of knowledge.

Leave a Reply

