How the Yemeni Revolution Changed My Life

Usually, I blog about the political situation in Yemen. Information, after information. Useful for many, even for myself. Today, I’m writing on something away from the political situation, rather what it did for me. What the Yemeni revolution made me realize, and how it changed my life.

Before the revolution, Yemen was something far from my thoughts even though I went every Summer, since I was twelve years old. It was just a typical country that I had no choice but to visit. Every time we would land, I would take out my iPod and go through the calendar and count how many days left until I leave, back to New York. Usually, I would enjoy myself maybe for the first two weeks with my cousins. After that, it was really boring. I bet you all think that I did nothing but stay home! No, I toured around, shopped, ate at restaurants and went to beaches. I lived it-well, whenever I use to tell people thats what they used to tell me. Every year, I would go back to Yemen and it would be the same actions all over again: go through the calendar, count the days of departure back to New York. I laugh now, looking back at my actions.

Once I hit fifteen, I thought one day and looked at myself in the mirror, IN Yemen and said, “I want to do something different, maybe one day I can have a dream and accomplish it…hopefully soon.” I would have never thought it would be about Yemen though. Never in my mind, because like I said before, Yemen wasn’t in my thoughts. My parents used to always tell me, “Yemen will be your favorite destination one day; whether going because you have a vacation or maybe even for business in the future.”

I laughed and as a silly fifteen year old I told them, “Yeah right! Never would that happen.” As the months went by, I started liking Yemen, but I kept it within me because I knew if I said something, I would have looked dumb, but not to anyone around me, but to myself. I started to download Yemeni music, called my cousins, and I even watched Yemeni dancing on Youtube whenever I had free time on my hand. Still, I kept this top secret at the time.

Once I hit sixteen years old, I didn’t have any problems going to Yemen. Once I land, I stopped going through the “calendar” and stopped wishing the days would go by quickly. Still, I felt like something was missing when I went. I felt like I was wasting my precious time doing nothing. Well, not nothing but just having too much fun! There was something more, that I wished to do but I couldn’t put my finger on it. It was a rather annoying feeling. As the months passed by, something amazing happened. And, this of course was the Yemeni revolution. I sat on my couch watching CNN and Al-Jazeera feeling like crap knowing I’m not there at such a historical time. Damn, I felt like a bum. As two months pass, I courageously asked my father if I can go with him in the month of April, and of course he was more than happy to say yes. Any who, I arrived, went through the daily struggles that millions went through.

Then, all of a sudden, I just felt like…this was it. My calling! I wanted to write about the revolution. It grew, made a twitter and made myself rooted in the grounds of Yemen. I had a drive, and a goal. This goal was to serve my people. Fast forward a few months after I came back to New York and I was back in Yemen. I finally turned seventeen on the 3rd of August. I started writing more posts, articles and doing the best I could. I stopped my teenage life for the 26 million people that have to struggle and sacrifice a lot. I stopped looking at things the way many people my age do. I missed out on many things. Usually friends would tell me, “Do you want to go out?” My answer: “I can’t, I have to write an article.” Some people I knew took it as a joke, but I didn’t mind. It was what I wanted to do. My life took a 360, and I all of sudden dropped my fun time to serious time. It gave me a sense of value. Until this day, some people say ‘slow down!’ Heck, even some of my teachers used to tell me to leave Yemen and focus. But it’s all about sacrifice and honest to God, I don’t mind the sacrifice if it makes me feel like my time is not wasted.

People started re-imaging Summer Nasser, even though they said I was a “wise one.” I’m caught up in anything related to Yemen. Although sometimes, things might be overwhelming, now being a senior in high school but I get the job done. I would do anything in the world to see 26 million people happy. I would write and speak in every conference or any event if I had to. Nothing stops me, even if the people around me look at me like I’m not a regular 17 year old. I found my meaning to my day to day life. Something thats worth it too! My dreams led me to accomplishments, and for my age, I have seen and did many things that people twice the age of me do. But, wait. Summer isn’t stopping after Yemen is a new Yemen. I want to do so much for this world. So, you won’t stop seeing my tweets or my blog posts! Remember, always depend on yourself, because you will get yourself to the place you want to be in.

P.S: Don’t doubt people because of their age. You just may never know, how wise and responsible they are.

About Summer Nasser
Blogger, with Yemeni roots based in New York City. Student of Sociology (B.A.) with a focus on the country of Yemen. I would consider myself a student of knowledge.

2 Responses to How the Yemeni Revolution Changed My Life

  1. Maged Almawri says:

    Allah Bless You, I always thought you were older, but keep it up. I believe that it is a blessing that we live in the USA and we see how people are living a good life. Now we think of a way to get those 26 million people to live a similar peaceful life.

  2. bin Nasser says:

    oh girl, u made me cry :’)
    i love the way u write

Leave a Reply

