A ticket to escape?

”Why are you here? Especially at this time- even though if things get worse, you can leave with ease. Just go and book! Before you know it you will be on your way to America.” One lady told me.

This grabbed my attention…not because its not true- it’s actually that simple, but because this lady thinks that escaping is a ticket to certain solutions. For me and many other people that can leave anytime. What if, for instance all the Airports are closed in Yemen? Hmm… what will happen then? Oh.. well that plan is not as simple now is it? Im stuck in Yemen. On my countries soil. With my people. I don’t mind. Thats exactly what I replied to this lady. With that I stood firm. She replied ” But why Summer, don’t get yourself in to danger and don’t stick around. This is bad thinking! Stay in a safe place, in America. Don’t worry about whats going on here!”

This baffled me! Really. Is this lady being serious? How can a person not worry about their own homeland?! So, I explained to her that whatever happens to the people here, will effect me too. They are fighting for all the Yemeni’s around the world. She looked at me with a ‘shocking’ facial expression.

Maybe because it was the way I explained myself towards this situation? Or maybe because she thought I would just agree on what she had told me? God knows. Ever since she told me the plan to escape, it couldn’t get out of my head. Her words just kept on bouncing around in my head.

So, yes. Frankly- I don’t mind being in the same situation and I don’t think I am crazy for thinking that way too. Heck, I don’t mind being stuck here either. I am proud to come from a country that is enriched with history and such a beautiful cultural background, nonetheless coming from a land where we are known for our wisdom and strength. This revolution is a powerful message to all the people here and around the world. Unity is the key and with that we can succeed.

No dictator, no invader, can hold and imprisoned population by force of arms forever. There is no greater power in the universe than the need for freedom. Against that power, governments and tyrants and armies cannot stand. – J.Michael Straczynski

About Summer Nasser
Blogger, with Yemeni roots based in New York City. Student of Sociology (B.A.) with a focus on the country of Yemen. I would consider myself a student of knowledge.

Leave a Reply

